

BRAINWARE UNIVERSITY

398, Ramkrishnapur Road, Barasat, North 24 Parganas, Kolkata - 700 125

Minutes of the Meeting FORMATION OF INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL (IQAC)

Date: 12th September, 2018

Time: 12.30 p.m.

Venue: Board Room, University Building III, Brainware University

The following members were present:

SI.	Name and Affiliation	
No.		
1.	Prof. Subrata Kumar Dey, Vice-Chancellor, BWU	Chairman
2.	Prof. B. B. Paira, Ex-Advisor – Higher Education, Heritage	Advisor, IQAC-BWU
	Group of Institutions	
3.	Prof. Sharmistha Ghosh, Dean, Science, BWU	Convener
4.	Prof. Dilip Debnath, Dean, Engineering, BWU	Member
5.	Prof. Manas Bhowmick, HOD, Department of	Member
	Pharmaceutical Technology	
6.	Dr. Sudipto Bhattacharyya, , HOD, Department of	Member
	Computer Science & Engineering, BWU	
7.	Dr. Soumya Paul, HOD, Department of Computational	Member
	Science, BWU	
8.	Dr. Subhra Prakash Hui, HOD, Department of	Member
	Biotechnology, BWU	
9.	Mr. Gourab Chatterjee, HOD, Department of Humanities	Member
	& Social Science, BWU	
10.	Ms. Mahua Pal, Registrar, BWU	Member

The Honourable Vice-Chancellor welcomed all the members and mentioned the importance of IQAC in a University structure. Hon. Vice-Chancellor then requested Advisor, Prof. Paira to discuss the guidelines for creation of IQAC.

- Advisor, Prof. Paira emphasized the objectives as well as strategies, functions and benefits of creating an Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC) of the University. As per the guidelines provided by NAAC regarding composition of IQAC for Universities, the IQAC of BWU was constituted as follows:
- 1. Chairperson: Prof. Subrata Kumar Dey, Vice-Chancellor
- 2. Teachers:
 - Prof. Dilip Debnath, Dean, Engineering

- Dr. Sudipto Bhattacharyya, HOD, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
- Dr. Soumya Paul, HOD, Department of Computational Science
- Dr. Kaushik Banerjee, HOD (Acting), Department of Management
- Dr. Pijush Mallick, HOD, Department of Biotechnology
- Mr. Gourab Chatterjee, HOD, Department of Humanities & Social Science
- Dr. Mainak Mal, Assistant Prof., Department of Pharmaceutical Technology
- Dr. Anup Karak, Assistant Prof., Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
- 3. Management: Dr. S. K. Chatterjee, Trust Nominee
- 4. Senior Administrative Officers:
 - Ms. Mahua Pal, Registrar
 - Dr. Anup Maiti, Dean Students' Welfare
 - Ms. Bandana Basu, Librarian
 - Mr. Arindam Mitra, System Administrator
 - Mr. Amitava Das, Controller of Examinations
- 5. Local Society, Students and Alumni:
 - Local Municipality Chairman
 - Writuparna Pal, BCA 3rd year student (BWU/BCA/16/072)
 - Jenna Mondal, MBA passed out student (BWU/MBA/16/018)
- 6. Employers, Industrialists, Stakeholders:
 - Employer: Mr. Ranendra Narayan Dutta, Director and CEO, Nature Technologies Pvt. Ltd., Kolkata
 - Industrialist: Mr. Amit Mishra, CEO & Founder, Anix Systems Pvt. Ltd., Noida, UP
 - Stakeholder: Kalpak Mukhopadhyay, father of Pratha Mukhopadhyay, B.Sc. (HN) 3rd year student (BWU/BHN/16/040)
- 7. Director IQAC: Prof. Sharmistha Ghosh, Dean, Science
- It was mentioned by Prof. Paira that Institutions Accredited by NAAC need to submit self-reviewed progress report i.e. Annual Quality Assurance Report (AQAR) to NAAC through its IQAC for every Academic Year. The various committees for preparation of AQAR were also constituted as follows:

Part A: Institutional Data

- Mr. Jyotirishwar Kumar, Assistant Registrar (Convener)
- Mr. Gautam Deb, Systems Officer
- Mr. Siddhartha Sanyal, Senior Administrative Executive
- Mr. Abir Saha, Finance Officer
- Mr. Biplab Kumar Chandra, Assistant Librarian
- Mr. Mrinal Mohan Bhattacharya, Training and Placement Officer
- Mr. Sankar Ghosh, Assistant Controller of Examinations

Part B:

Criterion I – Curricular Aspects

- Prof. Dilip Debnath, Dean, Engineering (Convener)
- Prof. Manas Bhowmick, HOD, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology

- Dr. Sudipto Bhattacharyya, HOD, Department of Computer Science & Engineering
- Dr. Soumya Paul, HOD, Department of Computational Science
- Dr. Anup Maiti, HOD, Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering
- Dr. Kaushik Banerjee, HOD (Acting), Department of Management
- Dr. Pijush Mallick, HOD, Department of Biotechnology
- Mr. Gourab Chatterjee, HOD, Department of Humanities & Social Science

Criterion II – Teaching-Learning and Evaluation

- Dr. Anirban Mandal, Associate Professor, Department of Management (Convener)
- Mr. Boudhayan Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor, Department of Computational Science
- Ms. Debjani Sarkar, Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology
- Mr. Arpan Kishore Sarbadhikari, Assistant Professor, Department of Computational Science
- Dr. Suprativ Das, Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology
- Mr. Alankar Das Dalal, Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Science
- Mr. Surath Roy, Assistant Professor, Department of Basic and Applied Sciences

Criterion III - Research, Innovations and Extension

- Dr. Sudipto Bhattacharyya, HOD, Department of Computer Science & Engineering (Convener)
- Dr. Anup Maiti, Dean Students' Welfare
- Ms. Debadrita Panda, Assistant Professor, Department of Management
- Dr. Sanchita Das, Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology
- Dr. Uma Shankar Uday, Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology

Criterion IV – Infrastructure and Learning Resources

- Mr. Gautam Deb, Systems Officer (Convener)
- Ms. Bandana Basu, Librarian
- Mr. Sanjib Kar, Estate Officer
- Aniruddha Bhandari, Law Officer

Criterion V – Student Support and Progression

- Dr. Anup Maiti, Dean Students' Welfare(Convener)
- Mr. Siddhartha Sanyal, Senior Administrative Executive

Criterion VI - Governance, Leadership and Management

- Ms. Mahua Pal, Registrar (Convener)
- Mr. Jyotirishwar Kumar, Assistant Registrar
- Ms. Ananya Chakraborty, Senior HR Executive

Criterion VII - Institutional Values and Best Practices

- Mr. Gourab Chatterjee, HOD, Department of Humanities & Social Science (Convener)
- Ms. Reetoja Taj, Department of Humanities & Social Science

- Finally the following points were discussed regarding the IQAC:
 - The nominated members of the IQAC so constituted will work for a period of two years. The cell will be reconstituted with new members in every two years.
 - The IQAC should meet once in every three months.
 - A separate room will be provided for IQAC.
 - IQAC Forum will be created by Registrar.
 - BOS, Curriculum, Promotion policies etc. will be evaluated through IQAC.
 - The first meeting of the IQAC of BWU will be tentatively held in the first/second week of October, 2018.
 - Agenda for the first meeting of IQAC shall include evaluation of curriculum for the programmes for which BOS has been constituted. Relevant documents should be submitted by concerned HODs to the Director, IQAC.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks by the Convener.